Door repurposing: hanging garden table out of old wooden door DIY


I really love this door repurposing project. I always dreamed to get a hanging table in my garden pavilion, finally I have one. Here it is:

wooden hanging table

door repurposing DIY

I love just the way it looks and feels, this repurposed door table is very usable. As you may see on this pic, it is coupled by a bench made out of an old door too. Here is a quick DIY course for it.

The table is fit into our summer pavilion, so we already had wooden planks to fasten it to. You may attach it to a strong tree outdoors.

What you need for this DIY door repurposing project:

1 old wooden door

Drill

Spade bit

Level

Strong rope or chain

Indeed, this is a very easy project, if you have the right equipment for it. The trick is to use a special kind of drill bit for making holes in the door. I am not sure how this tool is called in English, but I’ll provide you with its picture.

DIY door repurposing into a table

This is what it looks like. If you know its proper name, please add a comment to this post and I’ll add it in. – I have been able to find out what the proper name of the tool is. It is called spade wood bit. I asked a question on HOMETALK and got many great answers. You may join this great community and follow me there, too http://www.hometalk.com/busymomhelp.

You need to pick the tool of the right size to match your rope or chain diameter. We used organic rope for this project. It is strong enough and it looks so nice coupling the old door shabby chick surface.

Basically, my husband has drilled 4 holes in the 4 corners of the table, put in the rope and made large and strong knots on the rope from the bottom side to fasten it. Then he tied the rope to the pavilion roof.

old door repurposing

old door repurposing

This is what the surface of the old wooden door looks like. I still did not have time to sand it well and cover it with polish. But it wears nicely. My kids sometimes use the table as a swing and it holds perfectly. The tip is to use solid wood old door, so it can stand any type of weather outdoors.

This is an easy and quick repurposing project. I love hanging tables and it took just 2-3 hours for my husband to make it. You are welcome to pin or share this projects and check out on my other DIY or upcycling projects.

Leave a Reply

