Kitchen crafts: glass and wood decoupage ideas


There are many things you can craft for your kitchen to make it cosy and stylish. I love shabby chic or cottage chic styles. So, I try to craft things for my kitchen in soft colors. Here are two of my decoupage projects: decoupaged glass bottle vase and decoupaged wooden cutting board.

decoupage on glass and decouapge on wood

decoupage on glass and decouapge on wood

I used the same color vanila paint for both items. Both of these are usable crafts. The cutting board has the other side, where I can cut thing on. Only one side of it is decoupaged. And it is washable, too. I had to put several layers of polish on the wooden board and now I can wash and even lightly scrub it.

bread cutting board decoupage

bread cutting board decoupage

I have made another cutting board over a year ago and it is still in use and the decoupaged surface was not damaged by water. I do use a lot.

Decoupage on wood is easy to do. Here is a quick how to:

I painted one side of the cutting board with acrylic paint. Let it dry. Then I applied the napkin patterns using transparent acrylic furniture polish. Once it has dried up, I shaded the board a bit with acrylic silver paint and put several layers of polish.

Decoupage on glass: recycled glass bottle vase

I really love to upcycle or recycle glass bottles. Most people throw them away, so I ask them to donate the bottles to me and give them a new life.

In this particular glass bottle vase I have put two layers of decoupage to create texture on the bottle. Here is my quick tutorial.

First, I painted the bottle. Then I used pieces of old napkins to decoupage it with. Once they dried up, I have repainted the bottle once more. This created a soft texture underneace the paint.

decoupage on glass tutorial

decoupage on glass tutorial

Then I decoupaged the glass bottle vase with apple napkin and covered it with polish.

decoupage on glass tutorial

decoupage on glass tutorial

I have also used organic fiber rope to decorate the bottle. And I made rolled fabric flowers to decorate both the rope on the bottle and to make flowers for this decoupaged glass bottle vase.

You may order unique and handcrafted items for your kitchen from me. Write me at kievtrnaslator@gmail.com . Find more crafting inspiration on my PINTEREST boards.

Leave a comment