My house cleaning story testimony or how the 1st cleaning tip worked for me


Housekeeping tips

I have a tiny house. It has only two rooms: one large and one small. So, it gets a bit crowdy both for people and for things in my house. I used to have real trouble with housekeeping to keep all things on their proper places. I heaped them in all kinds of places and mostly I heaped them in my small bed room.

I have a baby sitter coming to my home to stay with kids, while I work. I was really ashamed to show her that small room. Sometimes, she had to come in there to get the clothes for the baby. Every time she did, I felt bad over the mess in that room. It really got messy. I had heaps of things on the bed and on the chairs; toys all over the floor, etc. You know, how it gets with smalls kids playing.

When I discovered Flylady system, I decided to get that room cleaned. You know what? It took me a week to gather up all my strength and heart to plan that big cleaning. I decided to follow simple Flylady rules: set the alarm clock for 15 min and try to do only basic cleaning. I.e., to move all the things to right places, even if it was just to heap them over in on my shelves, to vacuum, dust and may be even wash the floor. No need to move away beds, wash windows, etc. Just very basic cleaning.

I honestly believed, it would take me few hours to get that done. I did not see any good reason to set the alarm clock for 15 min. What can one get done in 15 min with such a mess? But, I followed the rule and set it.

Guess what? I got to work, moved out all the heaped stuff, picked up the toys, made my bed, vacuumed, dusted and washed the floor just in 11 MINUTES! I worked quickly, but I could not believe my own eyes! Just 11 minutes!

That room looked completely different after that cleaning. I spent a week going around the house in bad mood, thinking about the upcoming cleaning in the small room. I wasted a week for being in downcast spirits, but it took me only 11 min to get rid of the mess. It looked like a miracle to me.

And, never since I had that mess coming back to my small room. Now I know the truth and it has set me free: things do not take as long, as we think, they would. And, even 15 min cleaning matters.

2 responses to “My house cleaning story testimony or how the 1st cleaning tip worked for me

  1. Just tried your 15 min timer tip. It was amazing how much I achieved. I will definitely continue using this. Maybe I had housework ADHD before? 🙂

Leave a Reply

