Making a box how to: recycled craft aluminium can handmade Christmas box


This is one of my new recycled craft projects. It took me a while to finish it up. It’s a handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans.

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

You may buy this unique recycled box on my Etsy shop.recycledcrafting.  I have a step by step how to for this handmade box for you:

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

That is where you start. Get enough cans, cut them up to make aluminium sheets and clean them.

Make a paper layout and pattern for your future box.

Then cut out the pattern out of aluminium. I used two sheets of aluminium for each side of the box. So, I had to double the number of sheets I cut out and then fix them together.

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

Looks tidier, right? Now I had to prick holes in the aluminium sheets. I used a paper pricker for it.

Then I painted one side of the plates, as I wanted to get a white box.

When my can box plates dried up, I started to crochet them together through the pricked holes.

Finally, I assembled the handmade can box by crocheting it together.

Then I moved on to decorating it.

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

I have decoupaged it with the Christmas bell on the top, as I did with one of the decoupaged glass bottles. The great thing about decoupage is that you can decoupage almost anything, if you cover it with paint first.

I decoupaged the box with snowflakes on the sides, I cut them out of napkins.

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

handmade Christmas gift box made out of aluminium cans

That is how this handmade can box for Christmas looks from inside. I plan on using the can box for Christmas gifts and candies.

Leave a Reply

